2017 Easter Menu

Happy Easter everyone (and a good Passover to all my Jewish readers). ♡

Ever since my Captain and I got engaged, I have been packing, donating things I don’t want anymore, and hosting holiday gatherings. I’m (finally) leaving Iowa, and the holidays are a perfect time for me to do one of my favorite hobbies — hosting dinners.

Last Thanksgiving, I hosted dinner for seven people (for Easter this year, I’ll have nine). Since my menu is a light spring dinner, I don’t have to suffer through an 18-pound turkey and ham to cook at dawn. I am not a fan of pork, even though Easter usually consists of ham (I would have made a great Jew!), so my Easter menu was:

  • Petite sirloin steaks (recipe below)
  • Bowtie pasta salad (recipe below)
  • Garden salad
  • Corn-on-the-cob
  • Antipasto tray
  • Fruit tray
  • Chocolate-mint cake (this was store bought since I don’t know how to bake)

With steaks you can pan-fry, grill, oven-roast, or use a broiler. Take it out from the fridge 30 minutes before cooking, and salt both sides immediately.

When ready to cook, brush olive oil and season on both sides. Use tongs to turn over the steaks so that you don’t puncture the meat (this releases the juices). The method I used was broiling.

Grease the broiler rack, and place the pan about five inches above the bottom of the oven. Cook for 5-7 minutes, turn over with tongs, and cook for another 5-7 minutes. Cover with aluminum foil for 10 minutes and serve.

With my bowtie pasta salad, I like serving it cold (but it can be served warm too). Cook the pasta according to its direction, drain and rinse with cold running water; in a skillet heat olive oil, sauté grated garlic, add spinach and cook until wilted, add halved cherry (or grape) tomatoes and cook until soften, add mozzarella (cubed in mini bite-size, don’t use the stuff that comes in shaker bottles, get real cheese!), turn heat off and add cold (drained) pasta to mixture. Toss and put in fridge to make cold before serving, add ranch dressing to pasta if you want it creamy.

Happy Easter everyone! ♡

Leave a Reply

