Ribeye Steak Recipe

I had felt bad the other day when the mister came home during lunch and I had forgotten to make lunch. That is, I started to make lunch, but then I forgot all about it because I started playing with my phone. To make it up to him, I cooked him steak for dinner.

So here’s the thing about me… I actually know how to cook meat. Ssshhhhh — it’s kind of a secret though. See, the thing is, I don’t really eat meat at all. I’m definitely not a girl you would want to take to a steakhouse or anything, but most men love meat. Well, the guys I’m always with tend to be meat lovers anyway. I’m particular when it comes to meat though, I like meats with the bone attached. I guess because it’s easier to grab on to (eating with your hands is kind of fun!), but also because with my cooking methods, I eyeball everything (which means I don’t measure and I don’t time). The bone is one way of telling me if the meat is cooked thoroughly or not. I know some people like their steaks rare, but not me. I’m the person that is always very self-conscious of that asterisk at the bottom of menus telling you to always have your meat cooked to a certain temperature.

With steak, I never use steak sauce. If you cook it good enough, you don’t need sauce. Steak sauce is to add flavor to a steak that’s been overcooked and dry. If your steak is juicy, you don’t need any sauce to compliment it. I do marinate with herbs and spices though. The mister’s spice cabinet was lacking, I made-do with what he had. I rubbed both sides with dried rosemary, black pepper and salt, soy sauce and sesame oil. And some other stuff I found in the cabinet. I marinated the steaks for about 3 hours (I started cooking at 5PM).

20160618_202702

In a cast iron skillet, I pour extra virgin olive oil to pan sear it first before transferring to the oven to finish cooking (hence the cast iron). When the oil is hot, I add my finely chopped garlic and onions, and sauté for a few seconds. I then put down the two steaks on the skillet for about 3 minutes on high heat, then I turn them over for another 3 minutes, and finally I put them in the oven at 375 degrees. (Sorry about measurements, I never measure anything, which is probably why I’ve never baked anything!) Cook in oven for about 10 minutes, more or less depending on the size of your steak and how cooked you like it.

As already stated, I don’t use steak sauce. No steak that is done correctly needs it, but I do add things to the steak though. I forgot to buy parsley, so I didn’t have that to plate the steak with (but mint, parsley and related herbs like that are good to get that beefy taste out of your mouth after dinner). I sauté onions, garlic, scallions and fresh mushrooms in a separate skillet. That took about 2 minutes on high heat. Then I pour that on top of the plated steaks.

Oh, and I made homemade mash potatoes. I saw a bag of potatoes in the cabinet and knew that they would start going bad soon because they were starting to lose their firmness. I decided why not, steaks with mashed potatoes. Every guy’s perfect dinner to come home to.

Peel the potatoes, quarter them, and put them in cold water to be boiled. Boil them until they break easily with a fork. Drain them and put them in a bowl to mash them. I had the mister mash them when he came home. Pour a bit of milk to make it fluffy, add half a stick of butter, and whatever else you like in your potatoes (I put black pepper and finely chopped scallions).

I wish I had a picture to share… but he ate it all before I could take a picture of any of it!

One thought on “Ribeye Steak Recipe

Leave a Reply

