The Day of the Crabs

Today I went to Walmart to develop a picture and to get the mister a wok. He’s a white guy with a Chinese girl — c’mon now! They have a cheap brand at Walmart for $5, so I bought it. Next I went to O-Mart (a very popular Asian supermarket in Killeen, located on S. Fort Hood Street; they specialize in Korean, Japanese, and Chinese foods) for live crabs. I got 3. I poked them with the tongs to see which ones were moving and still feisty, as some of them appeared to be dead (they weren’t moving). I got 3 that were snapping each other with their claws.

So for tonight’s dinner, it only cost me a total of $6.40 at O-Mart, no kidding! I got 3 live blue crabs, a huge piece of fresh ginger, and 3 baby bok choy stem batch; the crabs were only $5.03. Using fresh ingredients and cooking homemade dishes is not only healthier, but more affordable too. Even buying the wok at Walmart with my groceries at O-Mart, everything came out to like $10 (can’t beat that price!).

Here’s some pictures (I was told they can say a thousand words, ha!)… and for a video tutorial on how to cook Cantonese style blue crabs, check out the video below! (Oh, and I also made the baby bok choy tonight too.)

Washing then with cold water in the sink to wake them up a bit and to clean them.

Washing then with cold water in the sink to wake them up and to clean them. (One of the other crabs tore another one’s leg off! They were fighting in the paper bag!)

I couldn't bear to kill them, so I had the mister do it. I showed him how: put the crab on its back, with a cleaver or sharp chef's knife, cut it in half by going down the middle of its body; but leave the shell intact. Pull the body apart into 2 separate pieces by ripping the halves off the shell. Crack the claws with the blunt side of the knife for easy opening when eating.

I couldn’t bear to kill them, so I had the mister do it. I showed him how: put the crab on its back, with a cleaver or sharp chef’s knife, cut it in half by going down the middle of its body; but leave the shell intact. Pull the body apart into 2 separate pieces by ripping the halves off the shell. Crack the claws with the blunt side of the knife for easy opening when eating.

20160617_214437

The actual cooking time is only about 10 minutes.

I added cilantro at the end on this one... because I had a bunch, and it's one of my favorite herbs.

I added cilantro at the end on this one… because I had a bunch, and it’s one of my favorite herbs.

20160617_214632

A picture of the knife set the mister got online. I love it!!!

20160617_194807

The mister got the awesome culinary knife set on Amazon.com, I love it! Check out my previous post on how to cook bok choy!

Here’s a video tutorial on making the blue crabs… now go eat!

Leave a Reply

