La Femme Infidèle

Tonight I’m in Ames, I always have a hard time sleeping anywhere that is not my own bed… hotels are the worse of them all. Anyway, it is 0230 and TBS is playing Unfaithful. I actually saw this in the theater when it came out in 2002… I can’t remember who the guy was that took me to see it.

So when the movie came out, I didn’t especially like it, but now that I’m older I appreciate it more. The American film is actually based on a French film in the 1960s, La Femme Infidèle. The plot line is the same. The French title means: the unfaithful wife.

It’s actually a very sad movie, and probably something that happens a lot in every day life. A bored suburban housewife that has an affair… it’s strange, I actually feel very compassionate for all three main characters — the wife, husband, and even the lover.

When I first saw the movie, I didn’t like Diane Lane’s character, but now that I’m older I can empathize with the character of Connie Sumner. Watching it now, I think Diane Lane should have won the Best Actress award at the Oscars (she was nominated, but didn’t win).

I think the most complex about the character is that she’s a good person that loves her family, but she has a sort of self-awakening when by chance she meets a handsome younger man… maybe it’s a mid-life crisis or something. I’m sure when a woman is in her forties or even older, and a hot young guy finds you sexually appealing, it’s bound to make you temporarily lose your senses.

Leave a Reply

