Product Reviews ♡

Okay, so in a previous post, I wrote that I would update on my laser resurfacing on that spot on my nose — it’s almost completely heal, and I’ve been wearing concealer to make it less conspicuous. It looks a lot better than the first few days after I had it done. I kept ointment on it for a week and also had it covered so that it wouldn’t scab (as scabbing leads to scarring); but I’ve also been messing around with it a lot, even though I know I shouldn’t be. It does look better, but the doctor had stated that I might need another session in a month to rise up the skin where the laser had burnt a hole, if I want the results to meet my expectations. Right now I’m not too bothered by it, so I’ll see how I feel in a couple of months.

I’m a girly-girl. I love getting manicures, pedicures, facials… all those girly stuff. I love makeup and skincare products too… I’m not endorsing any of these products, but some I did get for free though (but it hasn’t influenced my reviews), and I just want to give a quick scan of my beauty aisle reviews (most of which I had already written about in its respective product page) …

St. Ives Apricot Scrub, I LOVE this product, it’s great for exfoliating. It really gives your skin a very good scrub. I don’t have “sensitive” skin, so it’s not harsh for me to use it in the shower regularly. It’s the best product for removing makeup, in my opinion. I’ve never had any residual makeup like I sometimes do with others. Although this isn’t a daily “cleanser”, if you don’t have sensitive skin, then I think you can use it as a regular cleanser. This is also a cheap alternative to buying a microdermabrasion product. It costs less than $5 at any retail store, and they have specific labels that target individual skin types.

Olay Regenerist Daily Thermal Mini Peel, is also a good quality “scrub”. It cost a lot more ($20) than St. Ives, and although it calls itself a “peel”, it actually isn’t. The scrub has microbeads and it does “heat up” when activated with water. You do feel a warming sensation on your skin. However, there has been a few occasions when I’ve had on heavy makeup and this left makeup residual on my face, even in the shower (which I would then have to “deep clean” with a cotton ball soaked with astringent, and afterwards use another cotton ball soaked with toner, since the astringent is very drying).

Yesterday, I got a microdermabrasion kit from Amazon.com to review. Now first, consumer should be aware that these are not dermatological-graded tools. It’s the difference between getting a skin peel at the dermatologist or esthetician, and buying one of those at-home peels. The kit was: Olay Pro-X Microdermabrasion Plus Advanced Cleansing System. I’m not sure what the retail price is, and I think it’s affordable on Amazon, it’s about $30. The kit also came with two coupons, each for $3 off of Olay products, that expires in July of this year.

The kit came with two AA batteries, two sample size exfoliating cleansers, and two brush heads — one is a soft bristle brush (like the type on a toothbrush), and the other is a sponge-type (for “foaming”, according to Olay). I used both brushes and both cleanser. I accidentally dropped the tool, and it hit the sink hard enough for the battery compartment to open and dropped the batteries out — I put the batteries back in, closed the compartment again, and it worked just fine… so I’ve concluded that it’s very sturdy too.

The spinning-head rotates, and it wasn’t rough on my face. I liked it. I’m not sure if it’s as great as Olay claims it to be, but I personally did feel my face felt very clean afterwards. My face also felt tighter afterwards too. I didn’t have any snagging of my hair, and I felt I had a good control of the tool. I can’t compare it to other brands because this is the first (and only) one I have. The general consensus is that the Clarisonic is the top brand in this category — but it costs around $100 from an “affordable” retailer, and can be over $200 at others.

I have two facial moisturizing creams, one was from Pond’s and the other one was Garnier (better known for their hair products). I didn’t like either. They were in these small, round jars. I’m not sure what the retail price is. The jars weren’t very big (the Pond’s one was even smaller than the Garnier jar), and I’m not sure if they sell bigger versions.

Anyway, I don’t recommend them. Both claim to help “rejuvenate” the skin. Garnier called its label a night cream for anti-wrinkles, and Pond’s label claim to have AHA in it. Both cream felt heavy, thick, and greasy.

The product I recommend is Neutrogena Rapid Tone Repair Moisturizer SPF 30 (for day-time), and their label for the night-time one (which is just minus the SPF). The bottles are both 1oz., and cost $20 each… so some might find this expensive, given the small size of the bottles. The moisturizers are light, dissolves fast, and does not feel greasy; although the SPF one does feel a bit thicker than the night-time one.

I also love L’ORÉAL Magic Skin Beautifier B.B. Cream. It blends in very nicely with my skin tone and does not have that heavy makeup feel to it. It feels very light, stays on well, and is good as a moisturizer too. This could even be used as a primer before putting on the rest of your makeup, but I usually just wear this by itself. It’s also not very expensive, it’s around $10. (The only thing stopping it from being perfect is that it doesn’t have any SPF, which is a must!)

Okay, a list of other makeup and skincare that I like (and recommend):

  • Astringent: Neutrogena, or Clean & Clear by Johnson & Johnson
  • Toner: L’Oréal HydraFresh
  • Skin healing — dried, cracked, blistered, burnt, etc.: Aquaphor or Eucerin (Eucerin also makes a non-comedogenic daily facial moisturizer with SPF 30)
  • Facial SPF: for just regular SPF protection, Neutrogena Clear Face Liquid-Lotion Sunscreen (it’s good for only about an hour and a half, and then has to be reapplied), you get a variety of SPF protection level… SPF 30, 40, 50, 60, 70, etc.
  • Face Powder: CoverGirl Translucent Loose Powder (smells great and goes on flawlessly with its powder puff!)
  • Concealer: Neutrogena Healthy Skin Smoothing Stick (comes in a lipstick-like form, blends very well with most skin tones)
  • Foundation: CoverGirl Advanced Radiance (has the closest color selections to skin tones, doesn’t feel greasy or heavy)

I’m indifferent to mascara, eyeliners, and eyeshadows; and lipstick, lipgloss, and lipliners… but I have not found a blush that I like. I’m still looking for one! I’ve tried the powders, the mousse, and the loose powders — meh, I haven’t found any blush that I would buy again.

I’ve also have a bunch of makeup that I didn’t like, some of which I was very glad I didn’t have to spend money on because it ended up in the trash-can! I did NOT like Pond’s BB cream, very thick and greasy-feeling, and bad coloring; same thing with Maybelline BB cream and Olay BB cream. Olay’s BB cream also has a very heavy fragrance that I don’t like because it is overwhelming.

Leave a Reply

