Chicken and Pasta with Cheese and Sun-dried Tomatoes

I saw this recipe online and wanted to try it out today because we had a snow day from school. I love food like this when it’s freezing out; food like this makes you feel warmer against the cold.

Cook the pasta in boiling water (follow the directions on the box if you don’t know how to cook pasta), and separately in a skillet cook the rest of your ingredients while the pasta is cooking.

I sauté the chopped garlic cloves and sun dried tomatoes in olive oil for about a minute on high, and then I added the chopped chicken (I used boneless, skinless filets, and chopped it up in chunks). I continue to sauté for about five minutes or so, and I added about a cup of milk to the skillet (I didn’t measure… and the recipe online said to use half-and-half, but I just had regular milk in the fridge), and then I added mozzarella cheese. When the cheese had melted and I had a creamy sauce, I scooped up the pasta into the skillet to continue — don’t worry about draining the pasta, that water from the pasta helps to make the sauce creamy and not overly thick.

IMG_20150107_151003

My pasta and chicken right off the stove (before I put the spices to finish the recipe).

I mix the pasta with the rest of the ingredients in the pan, and I added basil, red pepper flakes, salt & pepper, and paprika for flavor and color. The whole thing took about 30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

