Stir-fried Mussels

IMG_20141125_170605

I made this for dinner when I was in Texas visiting the boyfriend. It’s hard cooking in someone else’s kitchen because you’re not use to how things are set up and also because my guy is a bachelor — which translates to him having like almost nothing for me to use with spices, herbs, cookware, etc.

Anyway, you can use a skillet if you don’t have a wok, which is what I used. I cut, sliced, and chopped up some ginger, green onions, red and green chili peppers, basil, chives, and garlic.

The fresh herbs I cut/sliced/chopped.

The fresh herbs I cut/sliced/chopped.

Heat the skillet/wok with cooking oil, sauté the ginger and garlic, add your cleaned mussels, stir-fry for a few minutes, cover with a lid to steam for a few more minutes (when the mussels open up that’s how you know they’re cooked), add soy sauce and Hoisin sauce (or oyster sauce), and add the rest of the herbs in with the mussels; give it a good toss around to mix everything up.

20141125_165607-1

Add the rest of the herbs after you’ve stir-fried and steamed the mussels for a few minutes.

I also made miso soup to go with this, as well as arroz con pollo. I have a recipe for that in an earlier post.

20141125_172314-1

Arroz con pollo… I used Spanish olives with stuffed pimento, but I didn’t use any cilantro like my previous recipe. There are many ways to make this.

Leave a Reply

