“Aloha!”

I have flown on a plane when I was very young, like 3 or 4, but I don’t remember anything about it. Being that I was so very young and don’t recall anything, I consider this to be my “first” time flying.

I flew out of La Guardia Airport very early in the morning during our company shutdown week. It was very cold in NYC when I left, but when I landed in Hawaii it was beautiful out. People were in shorts and t-shirts and flip-flops. I was a bit anxious about flying and a little uncertain about where to go and what to do. I got to my gate relatively fast for an airport in NYC (probably because it was so early in the morning!). The airport itself was quiet.

On my departing flight from LGA, I sat down next to a religious Jewish man, but he wasn’t Hasidic though because he held my hand during the takeoff of the plane (to calm my nerves). However, he was dressed and had the appearance of an Orthodox Jew. He was nice and let me use his headphone for a bit. He also help me to figure out what my gate number was when we landed in St. Paul Minneapolis, MN.

The flight to Hawaii was a very long one. I sat next to a black woman with 3 young children — that was bothersome for me because kids aren’t known for being able to seat quietly for an extended amount of time. I tried to watch some of the movie selections they had on the plane, none of them interested me. I finally settled on The Dark Knight. The movie was okay, very fast paced; I still think the best Batman movies were the ones with Michael Keaton though.

I was picked up at the airport by Matt (some white guy with an Asian fetish that I’ve been talking to from POF)… he had a fake lei for me when I arrived. I hung out with Matt a couple of times; met and hung out with Marine Joe’s friend, Jim; met a guy on vacation from Germany at the beach; met a Polish couple during a bus tour of the island; an elderly Christian couple from Kentucky at the Honolulu Zoo; a Japanese elderly couple on a cruise of the island; and Veronica — a lovely Peruvian woman on vacation by herself too!

Veronica and I at the Polynesian Culture Center.

Veronica and I at the Polynesian Culture Center.

I met others here and there, but not significantly enough for me to actually mention them. I also went to Pearl Harbor, the USS Arizona and USS Missouri, the Polynesian Culture Center … Mostly I shopped, ate, and did touristy stuff. I LOVE Hawaii!!! ♡ ♡ ♡

Leave a Reply

